North Carolina DL-123 Form
If you are convicted of a DWI in North Carolina, it is very likely that your license will be suspended. Regardless of the length of your suspension, you will have to meet certain requirements in order to regain your driving privileges. Among those is obtaining a DL-123 form.
Minimum Liability Coverage Requirements
The purpose of the DL-123 form is to provide documentation to the North Carolina DMV that you are an insured driver and that your policy meets the State-minimum requirements for liability coverage.
Under North Carolina law, you are required to be insured at minimum for $30,000 of bodily injury liability per accident per person and $60,000 of bodily injury liability per accident total. You must also have $25,000 per accident of property damage liability. Additional requirements include uninsured motorist coverage as well as bodily injury liability insurance that is equal to the liability coverage limits listed above.
Car insurance can be tricky to understand, but your insurance company should be aware of the legal minimum requirements you must meet as a North Carolina driver and will be able to answer any policy-related questions you may have.
There are other documents in addition to the DR-123 form that are required in order to have your license reinstated. It is a good idea to consult your attorney to ensure that you are bringing all of the necessary documentation to the DMV in order to expedite the reinstatement of your license.